Can Keyboard on CAN1?

All information about power management unit
Post Reply
thokes82
Posts: 22
Joined: Sun Apr 17, 2016 10:14 am

Can Keyboard on CAN1?

Post by thokes82 » Fri Aug 31, 2018 5:36 pm

Hi, is possible to run the Keyboard (6x2) on CAN1 instead of 2? My CAN2 is somewhat creating conflicts and sometimes I have to press a button several times before it takes an action. Will the configuration be disturbed by the keyboard? Do I have to reduce CAN1 speed to 500kb/s

jgm
Posts: 76
Joined: Wed Oct 19, 2016 3:59 pm

Re: Can Keyboard on CAN1?

Post by jgm » Fri Aug 31, 2018 6:01 pm

Hi,
What type of the keyboard do you have?
- the new model RGB (red/green/blue, called "7-colors" is PMU software)
- the previous model RB (red/green, called "3-colors" is PMU software)

thokes82
Posts: 22
Joined: Sun Apr 17, 2016 10:14 am

Re: Can Keyboard on CAN1?

Post by thokes82 » Fri Aug 31, 2018 7:18 pm

It is the 3 color model

jgm
Posts: 76
Joined: Wed Oct 19, 2016 3:59 pm

Re: Can Keyboard on CAN1?

Post by jgm » Fri Aug 31, 2018 9:48 pm

Unfortunately, the 3-color model keypad can't be connected to the CAN1.
The CAN1 operate at fixed speed 1 Mbps, but the 3-color model supports only 500, 250 and 125 kbps.

We have tested the 3-color model keyboard in very high CANbus traffic and it works very well.

Maybe you have some other device that conflicts with the keypad.
You can log the CAN2 state channel (preferably 500Hz): pmu.diag.can2.state
Put the channel at the GraphLog and see if there are any CAN errors.
If there are any errors please post the log file here - so we can help.

What devices do you have connected to the CAN2?
Do you have a proper termination of the CAN2?

Keyboard in the factory configuration (described as ID 0x195 in PMU software) uses following CAN IDs:
0x195, 0x215, 0x315, 0x415, 0x595, 0x615, 0x715
Make sure these IDs are not used by any other device on the same bus.

The default ID of the keyboard can be changed to different ID in the range [0x190 .. 0x19F].

thokes82
Posts: 22
Joined: Sun Apr 17, 2016 10:14 am

Re: Can Keyboard on CAN1?

Post by thokes82 » Sat Sep 01, 2018 3:43 am

That was a great help. Will check this Datalogging and also check for potential conflicts. 0x615 is probably in my Ecu broadcasting range.
I have got:
Your EGT2Can
MS3Pro
Keyboard 6x2 3col
Race Technology Live
Your CAN module (steering wheel)
Another CAN module for diff temp and other analogs (0x200+1)

Termination is probably good. PMU is on one end (terminated) and the diff module on the other, also terminated. When Ecu is off, the Keyboard works perfectly. I will check conflicts and log. Then I revert back...

jgm
Posts: 76
Joined: Wed Oct 19, 2016 3:59 pm

Re: Can Keyboard on CAN1?

Post by jgm » Mon Sep 03, 2018 12:59 pm

It seems that MS3Pro has an ability to disable broadcast for the specific ID.
0x615 (1520 + 21) is allocated for Pulse width of Cylinder #13,#14,#15,#16. You probably do not need it.

You can try to disable broadcast for slot 21 decimal.
Attachments
ID_0x615.PNG
Disable_Single_ID.PNG

thokes82
Posts: 22
Joined: Sun Apr 17, 2016 10:14 am

Re: Can Keyboard on CAN1?

Post by thokes82 » Thu Sep 06, 2018 9:08 am

Will check this tomorrow. Thank you, found how to deactivate messages. But isn't 0x615=1557 instead of 1541?
You get feedback tomorrow evening.

jgm
Posts: 76
Joined: Wed Oct 19, 2016 3:59 pm

Re: Can Keyboard on CAN1?

Post by jgm » Thu Sep 06, 2018 10:47 am

Yeah, you are right.
0x615 = 1557 or (1520 + 37).
So you need to disable slot 37. It's EGOv13,14,15,16.

Post Reply
stół kuchenny okrągły

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest